News Archive:

Natsu 2024
Haru 2024
Hatsu 2024

Kyushu 2023
Aki 2023
Nagoya 2023
Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Natsu Basho 2014 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:M5 Flohru (12-3; 107 points)
Juryo Yusho:J10 Yumezukuri (11-4; 109 points)
Makushita Yusho:m5 Hakubayama (12-3; 106 points)
Gino-sho:M8 Rupatengu (10-5; 111 points)
M9 Chocshoporyu (9-6; 111 points)
Kanto-sho:M8 Rupatengu (10-5; 111 points)
Shukun-sho:not awarded
by Takanotaki, 2014/5/27

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 15
Congratulations to Flohru, who withstood the pressure on the final day to clinch his third Makuuchi yusho with ease while all his closest challengers lost. Congratulations also to Sekiwake Tosahayate on successfully gaining the ten wins required to return to the ozeki rank.
In Juryo all three yusho hopefuls lost, meaning Yumezukuri picked up the prize on a tie-break by virtue of more points scored. And Hakubayama took care of Hinomaru with ease to take the Makushita yusho, also on points scored, with a 12-3 record.
Congratulations to all the winners...see you in July.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/26

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 14
Co-leader Fujisan lost to tournament points leader and yusho hopeful Rupatengu today leaving Flohru alone at the head of the field with eleven wins. A win for him tomorrow will be enough for the Makuuchi title, but a loss invites chances for Andoreasu and Rupatengu as well as Flohru's opponent, Otokomae. It is shaping up to be an exciting final day. Sekiwake Tosahayate lost today and must now beat Fujisan on day 15 to regain his ozeki rank for Nagoya in July.
Two wrestlers (Yumezukuri and Metzinowaka) are battling for supremacy in Juryo, with Doitsuyama just one win behind. All three have a chance to win it, and as they are all fighting different opponents, pretty much anything can happen there.
Makushita will see a straight yusho-deciding bout between Hinomaru and Hakubayama with the winner taking it all. While Hakubayama is one win behind, his significantly superior points total will almost certainly guarantee him the tie--break win if he can prevail.
Good luck to all the contenders!
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/24

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 13
As we enter the final weekend there are two leaders in Makuuchi: Flohru and Fujisan. Fujisan is paired up with points leader Rupatengu on day 14 in what will no doubt be a key battle as the latter is also well in the yusho race, only one win behind. Sekiwake Tosahayate recorded his ninth win and now needs only one more to return to the ozeki rank.
In Juryo Metzinowaka is one win ahead of closest challenger Yumezukuri and will need to keep winning as they both have identical scores. And the third division is led by Hinomaru and Robocopthat, with four hopefuls just one win off the pace.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/24

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 11
WM3 Andoreasu moved into the sole lead with an easy win today while his closest rival, Sekiwake Tosahayate, lost and fell back into a following group of four.
It was an identical story in Juryo as Yumezukuri lost, also falling into a group of four one win behind the sole leader: Metzinowaka. And in Makushita the whittling down process has begun again with three wrestlers leading on 9-2.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/21

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 10
Sekiwake Tosahayate took another giant step towards returning to ozeki AND winning the tournament as he clinched a winning record today. He is joined in the lead by only one other wrestler: Andoreasu.
The Juryo division is also led by two wrestlers now as Fujiyama fell out of the front line. Yumezukuri and Metzinowaka can celebrate winning records as well. And in Makushita, the sole leader lost, making it a free-for-all once again involving five wrestlers, with ten more only one win behind.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/20

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 9
The Makuuchi leading group is back to manageable proportions with a pack of four now hoping for an early winning record tomorrow. The pack includes only one sanyaku wrestler: Sekiwake Tosahayate, who needs three wins in the last six days to regain his ozeki rank. The chasing pack comprises eight wrestlers, making it still an unusually open tournament.
In Juryo we find three players leading with 7-2 records: Metzinowaka, Fujiyama and former Ozeki Yumezukuri. And we have to go to Makushita to find the only winning record achieved so far: Hakubayama is the sole leader and can already look forward to a promotion for the Nagoya tournament.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/20

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 7
Day seven is down in the archives and we saw sole zensho Makuuchi division leader Ganzohnesushi finally lose to a strong line-up from Andoreasu. He is now joined by Flohru, who won again today to improve to 6-1. Sekiwake Tosahayate is having a promising tournament as he quests to return to the ozeki rank and now stands at 5-2. He now needs five wins in the remaining eight days.
In Juryo Metzinowaka is now the sole leader with a 6-1 record. And the Sumotalk players are having a ball in Makushita, with three of the four 6-1 leaders hailing from that hotbed of sumo gaming.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/17

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 4
Day four is on the books and the Makuuchi lead has already been whittled down to two Maegashira players: Ganzohnesushi and Oskanohana. Sekiwake Tosahayate lost today and fell to 2-2 so now needs to win 8 out of 11 to return to the exalted Ozeki rank.
Juryo is still very open with seven players on one loss, including the great former Yokozuna Doitsuyama, who really does not belong in the second tier at all. He is looking good so far for a return to the big time.
And unusually at this stage, there are only three undefeated players in Makushita: Wms10 Chisaiyama, Wms18 Danyotsu and Wms34 Robocopthat.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/14

Natsu Basho 2014 - Day 2
Welcome all to the Natsu basho. The main news coming into this basho is the lack of an ozeki for the first time ever. However, Tosahayate can be re-promoted with 10 wins this tournament!
9 remain perfect in Makuuchi, with only one sanyaku rikishi in the mix. Juryo and Makushita both have the usual logjam at the top.
Good luck to all players this tournament!
by Pandaazuma, 2014/5/13


Copyright © 1996-2024 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising