News Archive:

Haru 2024
Hatsu 2024

Kyushu 2023
Aki 2023
Nagoya 2023
Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Nagoya Basho 2014 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:M4 Ekigozan (11-4; 105 points)
Juryo Yusho:J12 Mimawari (12-3; 96 points)
Makushita Yusho:m7 Wakamasuto (12-3; 99 points)
Gino-sho:M17 Kamakiriyama (9-6; 109 points)
Kanto-sho:M16 Survivor (10-5; 105 points)
Shukun-sho:K Matsunoyama (8-7; 101 points)
by Takanotaki, 2014/7/28

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 15
In the Makuuchi division, only Norizo and Ekigozan emerged victorious of the leaders and a yusho play-off was required. The play-off was won by Ekigozan by virtue of a slightly higher score. Congratulations to the former ozeki on a third career Makuuchi yusho.
In Juryo Mimawari eased to victory on senshuraku to wrap up the title. And Wakamasuto overcame Nekotaikai to win the Makushita yusho on an exciting tie-break!
And sadly Ozeki Tosahayate will be kadoban in September after his 7-8 record this time. We wish him luck with his quest to achieve 8 wins next tournament and keep his rank.
Well done to all the winners and see you all in September.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/27

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 14
Uncharacteristically, Norizo has thrown away golden chances for yusho and will now compete with three other players for glory on senshuraku. Rupatengu and Ekigozan face each other, ensuring the winning record will be 11-4. Norizo and Survivor both face tough opponents and must win. Survivor is at an advantage with a superior score.
In Juryo Fatakiyama lost two straight days to allow Mimawari into the driving seat. However, Mimawari must win to make sure of glory as his/her score is much lower than those of Fatakiyama (103) and Gaijingai (102), his only rivals.
Makushita is also intriguing, as leader Nekotaikai faces Wakamasuto. A win for the neko will mean yusho, but a loss will likely favour her opponent who has a better score. Musashimaru will be hoping for a Wakamasuto victory and also a win for himself as that would bring about victory through the back door.
Good luck to all the contenders.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/26

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 12
Norizo marched on today to reach 10 wins and is closing in on a record fifth Makuuchi yusho. Three wrestlers are one win behind but realistically, barring a spectacular Norizo collapse, only two can challenge now as Sebunshu's score is unlikely to rise to match Norizo's in three days.
Fatakiyama won again in Juryo to go 10-2 but still can't shake off the stubborn Mimawari. And Musashimaru lost in Makushita, leaving Nekotaikai once again as sole leader.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/24

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 11
Some tumultuous action in Sumo Game, just as on the real dohyo, where unpredictability reigns supreme. EM6 Norizo has emerged as the sole leader in Sumo Game with nine wins, but a baying pack of six Maegashira is on his heels.
In Juryo Fatakiyama marches on and is now in the clear with nine wins. Only Mimawari is within realistic reach now with an 8-3 record. And day-ten Makushita leader Nekotaikai lost to let the auspiciously named Musashimaru into the hunt. A huge group of 13 lies in wait one win back.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/23

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 8
In today's Makuuchi action, Norizo fell out of the leading line with a loss while Sekiwake Pandaazuma and EM4 Rupatengu kept their winning streaks alive. Both face tough opponents on Day 9, however, so plenty can go wrong for them with five players waiting in the wings with 6-2 records.
The top-ranked Juryo player Fatakiyama is taking his rank seriously and is now the sole leader with six wins. And in Makushita three are leading the way: Sayonara, Yamashiro and Nekotaikai.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/20

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 7
As we enter the first weekend of the Nagoya Basho, three players have emerged on the Makuuchi leaderboard: Sekiwake Pandaazuma, EM4 Rupatengu and EM6 Norizo. Six other players are one win behind and hoping for a slip-up or two from the leaders, including former Ozekis Randomitsuki and Ekigozan.
Juryo has been vicious this basho and everyone is sporting war wounds. Five players lead with 5-2 records. And Makushita is a similar jumble with six hopefuls all at 6-1.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/20

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 4
WM10 Oskanohana takes the early limelight as he emerges as the sole undefeated wrestler in the Makuuchi division. A pack of ten is right on his heels.
There are no undefeated players left in Juryo and a scrum of seven players are vying for supremacy. Many of these players have never been in the top division and are hungry for the promotion.
And in Makushita, there are still six players who have yet to lose.
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/17

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 2
Welcome to the Nagoya Basho of Sumo Game. After one basho with no ozeki/yokozuna on the banzuke, we are happy to report that Tosahayate has been reinstated at the rank after getting the required ten wins in May. However, he is off to a tough 0-2 start this basho and needs to start winning soon if he wants to avoid another kadoban. As for possible promotions, the two current sekiwake would need yusho at the very least to even be considered for the step up.
The leaderboards are still taking shape at this early stage in all divisions. From sanyaku, only Sekiwake Pandaazuma and Komusubi Flohru remain unbeaten in the Makuuchi title race and the Juryo leaderboard has already been whittled down to five players.
And some sad news: after almost 14 years of Sumo Gaming, Doitsuyama submitted his first ever kyujo. We sincerely hope that the legendary former Yokozuna is simply busy, and that this is not a prelude to retirement! Hope to see him back in September.
Good luck to all the players!
by Pandaazuma, 2014/7/14


Copyright © 1996-2024 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising