News Archive:

Natsu 2024
Haru 2024
Hatsu 2024

Kyushu 2023
Aki 2023
Nagoya 2023
Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Haru Basho 2015 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:M17 Andonishiki (11-4; 105 points)
Juryo Yusho:J3 Kaiowaka (12-3; 115 points)
Makushita Yusho:m21 Domichi (15-0; 105 points)
Gino-sho:M2 Flohru (10-5; 113 points)
Kanto-sho:M17 Andonishiki (11-4; 105 points)
Shukun-sho:not rewarded
by Takanotaki, 2015/3/23

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 15
Both Makuuchi yusho contenders lost and that was enough for Andonishiki to win his first ever top-division title. Congratulations.
In Juryo Kaiowaka came through his final-day test calmly and wrapped up the yusho. And congratulations to Makushitan Domichi on achieving the very rare feat of a zensho yusho.
This is the first time in a long while that none of the divisions have required play-offs.
The Natsu Basho will be exciting as all three likely Sekiwake for that tournament will be on viable Ozeki runs as Tosahayate battles to keep his rank.
Thanks to everyone for playing. See you all in May.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/22

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 14
On the penultimate day of the Haru Basho, Sekiwake Oskanohana put a large dent in the title hopes of Chocshoporyu, beating him in a tie-break. Andonishiki duly took advantage, beating Komusubi Kogaratsu (who fell to a fourth straight loss after an eight-day winning streak). There is still hope for Chocshoporyu, though, as his insurmountably superior score would enable him to take the tournament in a play-off if Andonishiki loses tomorrow and he wins. And Andonishiki has to get past former Ozeki Randomitsuki, one of the finest players in the history of the game.
It's a similar story in Juryo. Kaiowaka will take the yusho if he wins tomorrow, but a loss could let Hakubayama in if he scores at least two points more and beats his opponent. The other pursuers are mathematically out of the race as Kaiowaka has an excellent score.
The Makushita championship is already decided, and it's congratulations to Domichi, who is 14-0 and will go for the zensho tomorrow against the man he dueled with until the final stages: Jejima. Jejima will no doubt be eager to gain a measure of revenge for being denied the big prize.
There is some sad news, however. Ozeki Tosahayate fell to a losing record and will once again be kadoban in May. It has been an unlucky tournament for him as he has scored very well as befits a player of his rank.
Good luck to all the players on senshuraku!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/21

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 13
With two days remaining of the Haru basho, two wrestlers stand at the top of the leaderboard and neither have ever won a top-division title. Chocshoporyu has been in Makuuchi for over seven years but has only one jun yusho to his name. Andonishiki is in only his second tournament at the top, but has shown great promise in the past with yusho in both of the lower divisions. Both players will have to work hard for the prize, though, as they have been matched against powerful veteran gamers over the final weekend. Four players are waiting for any slip-ups, including Komusubi Kogaratsu.
In Juryo we have three leaders vying for glory: Kaiowaka, Achiyama and Hakubayama. And Domichi has kept his remarkable perfect run going in Makushita and now has a chance to join a very exclusive club: zensho yusho winners. Good luck to him, and good luck to all players.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/21

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 10
Komusubi Kogaratsu takes sole lead of the Haru Basho, taking advantage of Andonishiki's loss. Andonishiki is now joint second with Komusubi Konosato.
In Juryo we have two leaders in Kaiowaka and Hakubayama. And a very interesting duel has developed in Makushita between the two remaining undefeated players.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/17

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 8
With Day 8 in the books, the drama for which Sumo Game is well known has already begun. Sole leader Konosato was defeated by ScreechingOwl and has fallen back into the chasing group. He is joined by fellow Komusubi Kogaratsu and WM17 Andonishiki. Three other players are right on their tails.
Juryo is led by four players, all with two losses. Only two undefeated players now remain and they can be found in Makushita - Jejima and Domichi. Who will be the first to falter?
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/16

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 6
In Makuuchi Konosato take a very well deserved 6-0 lead! 5 players are right on his tail.
In Juryo only Ahogeyama is perfect. And there are only two unbeaten wrestlers in Makushita: Gurowake and Jejima.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/14

Haru Basho 2015 - Day 3
Welcome all to the Haru Basho!
First let's take a look at the promotion situation. None of the sanyaku below ozeki can be realistically promoted this basho (unless Sekiwake Oskanohana wins 13). Komusubi Konosato is in the middle of an ozeki run after winning 10 last basho and getting off to a great 3-0 start this time. Ozeki Tosahayate can enjoy a kadoban-free tournament and is in fact technically on a yokozuna run - he needs 12 wins to get the bump to the top rank.
The leaderboards are now taking form. There are five unbeaten wrestlers in Makuuchi, with the aformentioned Konosato as the only sanyaku representative.
In Juryo four wrestlers remain perfect. And there are ten such in Makushita.
Enjoy the tournament and good luck to all the wrestlers!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/3/10


Copyright © 1996-2024 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising