News Archive:

Natsu 2024
Haru 2024
Hatsu 2024

Kyushu 2023
Aki 2023
Nagoya 2023
Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Nagoya Basho 2015 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:K Konosato (11-4; 111 points)
Juryo Yusho:J10 Domichi (11-4; 107 points)
Makushita Yusho:m16 Sokkenaiyama (13-2; 111 points)
Gino-sho:S Kogaratsu (9-6; 112 points)
M5 Metzinowaka (9-6; 112 points)
Kanto-sho:M9 Kaiowaka (10-5; 111 points)
M10 Survivor (10-5; 111 points)
Shukun-sho:not rewarded
by Takanotaki, 2015/7/27

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 15
As things turned out in Makuuchi, only two of the leading pack of five won on senshuraku: Komusubi Konosato and Ganzohnesushi. Konosato won the yusho play-off by virtue of his superior points score. Congratulations to him on his second Makuuchi yusho and zannen to Ganzohnesushi for only just missing out on his first top-division title.
The Juryo division did not require a play-off as Domichi won his death match to take the trophy with an 11-4 record. Makushita however required a play-off between former Ozeki Sokkenaiyama and Tenshinhan, but that was a lopsided affair as Sokkenaiyama has a far superior points total.
None of the ozeki promotion candidates achieved their target totals, but interestingly Konosato has 31 wins in his last three basho, although he missed Natsu. The rules are not clear in this instance so it will be up to the gamesmaster to decide. All will become clear when the next banzuke is released.
Congratulations to all the winners. Have a safe summer and we hope to see everyone back in September.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/26

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 14
Going into the final day the Makuuchi race is very exciting with five wrestlers all in with a shout of yusho. In the unlikely event of them all losing, three wrestlers with 9 wins are waiting in the wings for a chance too. Kaiowaka is in pole position as he has one more point than closest rival Survivor but it really could go to anyone.
The Juryo yusho can only go to three wrestlers now: Bunijiman, Domichi and Mainoumi, with the latter two facing each other. A win for Bunijiman would probably be enough for yusho as he has a slight points advantage. There is a similar scenario in Makushita: Former Ozeki Sokkenaiyama, Mariohana and Tenshinhan are all in the mix, with Sokkenaiyama facing Mariohana directly. Sokkenaiyama is a country mile ahead of his rivals on points so a win for him will give him the trophy.
Good luck to all the players!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/26

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 12
Komusubi ScreechingOwl won again and is now in pole position as we reach the final stages. Fellow Komusubi Konosato is just one win behind along with Kaiowaka.
Domichi won the battle between the two leaders in Juryo and is now the sole leader. Four wrestlers are just behind with 8-4 records. In Makushita, leader Yahiko lost and the race is now a free-for-all between seven leaders along with four more wrestlers just one win off the pace.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/24

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 11
In Makuuchi, Komusubi ScreechingOwl overcame a powerful sanyaku foe to maintain sole lead of Makuuchi. Four wrestlers are one win behind.
Two wrestlers now lead the Juryo division: Domichi and Gurowake. A group of five are just behind, waiting for mishaps. And Makushita has a sole leader in Yahiko.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/23

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 9
Sole leader Survivor lost today in a high-level bout and he is now part of a leading group of four. As expected, he is brought up to face a sanyaku foe - one of his rivals, Komusubi ScreechingOwl.
Juryo is extremely open with nine players sporting 6-3 records. And Makushita is led by two newcomers: Chankoyama and Yahiko.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/20

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 8
Three of the leading four wrestlers lost today, leaving Survivor as the sole (surviving) leader at 7-1. He was fortunate today to have an opponent with Harumafuji in the 2-slot! In the second week it is likely he will have to battle more challenging opponents!
Juryo now has five leaders after Chisaiyama lost for two straight days. And Makushita is also very open to thanks to Smoczayama's loss.
In ozeki promotion news, Tosahayate sadly failed in his quest to return to the ozeki rank and will have to start again from scratch. Sekiwake Oskanohana won today but he will still need seven wins out of seven from tomorrow to get the nod. The same goes for Sekiwake Randomitsuki.
Good luck to everyone in the second week!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/20

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 5
In the top two divisions we now have only one leader - Komusubi Pandaazuma in Makuuchi and Chisaiyama in Juryo. Reasonable-sized packs are nipping at their furry heels one win behind.
In Makushita only two wrestlers remain unbeaten: Yeditoshi and Smoczayama.
In the ozeki promotion stakes, Sekiwake Tosahayate lost again today and now needs 8 wins out of the remaining 10 bouts to return to the second-highest rank. Sekiwake Oskanahana won but he also needs to win 8 more. Difficult but not impossible!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/16

Nagoya Basho 2015 - Day 4
The divisional yusho races are now beginning to take shape. In Makuuchi, only two wrestlers remain perfect: Komusubi Screeching Owl and Komusubi Pandaazuma.
In Juryo the perfect trio of Mainoumi, Andrasoyamawaka and Chisaiyama lead the way and - surprisingly for these early stages - Makushita also only has three unbeaten wrestlers: Yeditoshi, Smoczayama and Mariohana.
In the ozeki promotion battle, Tosahayate and Oskanohana have grabbed a couple of wins but at 2-2 they will now need exceptional records over the remainder of the tournament to move upwards.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/16

Nagoya Basho 2014 - Day 1
Welcome to the steaming hot Nagoya tournament.
Sekiwake Tosahayate will be hoping for a quick return to the ozeki rank - he needs ten wins - but he got off to a bad start yesterday with a loss. Sekiwake Oskanohana, who just missed out on ozeki promotion last tournament, has another chance and needs 11 wins to get the nod. Sadly he also began with a loss. The other two Sekiwake Randomitsuki and Kogaratsu need 12 and 13 wins respectively but they are both off to winning starts.
Good luck to all the players, and a special welcome to all the newcomers in Makushita.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/7/13


Copyright © 1996-2024 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising