News Archive:

Natsu 2024
Haru 2024
Hatsu 2024

Kyushu 2023
Aki 2023
Nagoya 2023
Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Aki Basho 2015 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:K Screechingowl (11-4; 103 points)
Juryo Yusho:J11 Haidouzo (11-4; 104 points)
Makushita Yusho:m48 Mananoyama (13-2; 111 points)
Gino-sho:M12 Chocshoporyu (8-7; 109 points)
Kanto-sho:M15 Chishafuwaku (10-5; 107 points)
Shukun-sho:not rewarded
by Takanotaki, 2015/9/28

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 15
It was a crazy day on both the real dohyo and the virtual one. Of the three leaders yesterday only one managed a win today: Komusubi ScreechingOwl can celebrate his second Makuuchi yusho, his first for 3.5 years.
Things were even more dramatic in Juryo as longtime leader Haidouzo lost, allowing Tragikomy into a play-off after he defeated rival Kiriazuma. Fortunately for Haidouzo he enjoys a two-point advantage over Tragikomy and so takes the Juryo yusho (his first in any division) on a tie-break. The Makushita division also required a tie-break as both leaders won but it was taken easily by Mananoyama and fully deserved too as the newcomer had the highest total score of all players in all divisions. Impressive.
None of the four ozeki candidates achieved 31 wins in 3 basho but yusho winner Komusubi ScreechingOwl came within one of it. At the very least he will enjoy a promotion to sekiwake for the Kyushu tournament in November.
Congratulations to all the winners and see you in two months!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/27

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 14
Plenty of drama on day 14 in the Makuuchi yusho race as Chishafuwaku lost, allowing Komusubi ScreechingOwl and Ganzohnesushi back into contention. None of the three face each other on the final day and this means that the five players one win off the pace also have an outside chance of winning if all three leaders lose. However, given Chishafuwaku's superior points total, only Terarno and Rupatengu have a realistic chance. Chishafuwaku can be almost certain of victory as long as he wins tomorrow.
The Juryo race also became unexpectedly dramatic thanks to Haidouzo's loss. His two closest rivals Kiriazuma and Tragikomy face each other tomorrow and both have strong score totals. To be certain of victory, Haidouzo will need to defeat former Yokozuna Doitsuyama.
Makushita is between two relative newcomers to the game: Wuli and Mananoyama. A win for Mananoyama tomorrow will guarantee victory thanks to his superior points total but he has an extremely tough gig - he has to get past former Ozeki Sokkenaiyama. Wuli will be hoping for the luminary to shine and a victory for himself.
Good luck to all the players!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/26

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 13
Chishafuwaku recovered from his day-12 loss by defeating Komusubi ScreechingOwl and regaining sole possession of the lead. Chishafuwaku will face another sanyaku foe tomorrow and five pursuers will be hoping for a slip-up.
In Juryo Haidouzo won again and is now on the verge of winning the championship as his nearest rivals are two wins back. The Makushita race has become a real battle with three leaders duking it out: Wuli, Unkonoyama and Mananoyama.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/25

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 11
Chishafuwaku's loss today allowed Kitakachiyama back into the lead. This duo are just ahead of a trio that includes Komusubi ScreechingOwl, who is the only remaining ozeki-promotion hopeful who can still gain the 31 wins over three basho required.
Haidouzo won again in Juryo and is two wins ahead of his nearest rivals. Wuli won again in Makushita and remains in the sole lead.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/23

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 10
Hironoumi lost today, clearing the way for a victorious Chishafuwaku to take the sole lead with a 9-1 record.
It's exactly the same story in Juryo for Haidouzo and in Makushita for Wuli, who has taken advantage of two straight losses by Sokkenaiyama.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/22

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 8
Derosa lost to the highest-ranked player in Sumo Game - Sekiwake Konosato - today but the other three leaders all won to go 7-1. As they are all ranked in the middle or low end of the banzuke, it is likely they will all be matched up with high maegashira or sanyaku foes over the second week.
Both leaders marched on in Juryo, with Haidouzo notching a very impressive 10-pointer. Andrasoyamawaka scored only 7 but it's the win-loss record that counts. And in the third division, Sokkenaiyama remains the only unbeaten player and is trailed by only two players with one loss.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/20

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 7
The two Makuuchi division leaders both fell to sanyaku opposition today making a four-way tie for the lead. None of the leaders hail from sanyaku.
It was a similar tale in Juryo as Haidouzo lost, letting Andrasoyamawaka into the shared lead. And Sokkenaiyama won again in Makushita to cement his dominance.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/19

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 6
Day 6 is in the books and the yusho race pictures are forming more clearly. In Makuuchi only Derosa and Hironoumi remain unbeaten. Both face sanyaku foes tomorrow.
Juryo and Makushita now have sole leaders in Haidouzo and revived former Ozeki Sokkenaiyama.
In other news, the four ozeki hopefuls all now need 8 wins from 9 to win promotion and will also have to fight each other so it is becoming increasingly unlikely that we will have a new ozeki in November.
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/18

Aki Basho 2015 - Day 3
Welcome to the Autumn basho. The leaderboards are beginning to form in each division but there are still many unbeaten wrestlers.
There are some ozeki promotion prospects this time. Sekiwake Randomitsuki and Komusubi Pandaazuma need 11 wins to be considered while Sekiwake Oskanohana and Komusubi ScreechingOwl need 12. The two komusubi may be considered despite not being at sekiwake because it was impossible to promote them last time on the very full banzuke. Randomitsuki and Pandaazuma are off to poor 1-2 starts but Oskanohana and ScreechingOwl are still perfect and need 9 more wins,
Good luck to all the players!
by Pandaazuma, 2015/9/15


Copyright © 1996-2024 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising