News Archive:

Natsu 2024
Haru 2024
Hatsu 2024

Kyushu 2023
Aki 2023
Nagoya 2023
Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Hatsu Basho 2017 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:K Kitakachiyama (11-4; 99 points)
Juryo Yusho:J1 Yamashiro (11-4; 101 points)
Makushita Yusho:m43 Gansekiiwa (13-2; 96 points)
Gino-sho:M8 Pandaazuma (9-6; 100 points)
M10 Kibooyama (9-6; 100 points)
Kanto-sho:M12 Gaijingai (11-4; 95 points)
Shukun-sho:not rewarded
by Takanotaki, 2017/1/23

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 15
Komusubi Kitakachiyama won six of the last seven to take his third Makuuchi yusho on a tie-break, beating Gaijingai on points scored.
In Juryo Yamashiro also needed a tie-break but it was an easy win as he had the highest points total in all divisions.
And in Makushita it was a fairytale come-from-behind win for Gansekiiwa in his first tournament.
Congratulations to all the winners and see you all back here in March for the spring tournament in Osaka.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/22

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 14
The drama never ends in Makuuchi, with all three leaders losing and only Komusubi Kitachiyama able to take advantage and join them. As all four leaders take on different opponents tomorrow, even a rare 10-5 yusho is a possibility. Kitakachiyama and Kuroimori are the favourites with their superior points totals so just a win could be enough for them. Of the chasing group hoping for a 10-5 win line, only Pandaazuma and Konosato have realistic chances of sneaking the big prize with their high scores on a tie-break.
In Juryo just a win should be enough for Yamashiro, but a loss will hand the yusho to the winner of the Mimawari-Mmikasazuma death match. Makushita can only be won by Chikaraho or Gansekiiwa, who have different opponents. There is only one point between them so a rarer tie-break rule could be employed if both win or lose: Points will be key.
Good luck to all the contenders!
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/21

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 12
The drama continues as sole leader Kuroimori lost and fell into the chasing group, from which almost all pursuers won. There are now no less than six players leading with 9-3 records, including the only sanyaku representative, Komusubi Kitakachiyama.
Mmikasazuma and Genya have pulled clear in Juryo. And new player Gansekiiwa beat co-leader Kazikozo and was able to draw level with the leader Chikaraho, who lost a close bout today.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/20

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 11
The topsy-turvy Makuuchi race took another twist today as Kuroimori emerged as the sole leader. His three rivals all lost and fell back into a six-strong chasing group.
The Juryo race was whittled down to three leaders, including former Sekiwake Mimawari. And in Makushita, Kakikozo blinked first and allowed Chikaraho to take the sole lead. Gansekiiwa remains just one off the pace.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/18

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 10
Lone leader Gaijingai fell victim to another loss by ailing Yokozuna Kakuryu and fell back into the chasing group, from which three players won. It is still a Maegashira quartet. Gaijingai is rewarded for his strong run by being brought up to fight high-performing Komusubi Kitakachiyama tomorrow.
Juryo is still very open with five leaders all aiming for kachi-koshi tomorrow. And in Makushita yesterday's leading duo marched on. Promising newcomer Gansekiiwa is tucked in just behind and quietly racking up the wins.
Finally Sekiwake Yassier fell to a sixth loss today and now needs to win all the five remaining days to be considered for promotion to ozeki.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/17

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 9
Gaijingai was the only leader to emerge victorious in a day of upsets and now leads Makuuchi with an 8-1 record and a promotion already guaranteed. Five hopefuls are on his tail, and one of them - Yeditoshi - gets a stab at the leader tomorrow.
The Juryo leaderboard is now 6-3 and features no less than six players so it is very open there. And it's an early winning record for the two Makushita leaders, Chikaraho and Kazikozo.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/16

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 8
As we pass the midway point the two 7-1 leaders hail from the Maegashira ranks: Pandaazuma and Gaijingai. Only one sanyaku player forms part of the chasing group: Sekiwake Gurowake, who lost today.
Ozeki hopeful Sekiwake Yassier is on another losing streak and has fallen to 3-5. Six out of the final seven days must now be won for promotion.
Juryo has a sole leader in Tenshinhan. It is remarkable that the sole leader is only 6-2 - no domination by anyone in particular this tournament. Makushita is led by a group of four players with 7-1 records.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/16

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 6
There are no unbeaten players in Makuuchi and a group of five is leading the way, including Sekiwake Sebunshu and Sekiwake Gurowake. Ozeki hopeful Sekiwake Yassier has recovered from his bad start somewhat and is now 3-3. He needs six wins out of nine to get the nod.
In Juryo Jakusotsu and Tenshinhan lead with five wins. And Makushita is home to the two remaining unbeaten players: Inazuma and Chikaraho.
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/13

Hatsu Basho 2017 - Day 2
Happy New Year to all players from Sumo Game and welcome to the Hatsu Basho.
We have only one possible ozeki run this time: Sekiwake Yassier needs 9 wins to get the jump up. Sadly he's had the worst possible start and is yet to win coming into day three. Good luck to him in making a comeback.
Sekiwake Sebunshu and Komusubi Norizo are off to perfect starts in the top-division race.
Juryo is already down to only five unbeaten players, including Otokomae - the reincarnation of former Yokozuna Kintamayama. Makushita is a formless blob at this stage but Sumo Game prodigy (in Makushita anyway) Fusenshoyama is lurking among the leaders as usual.
Good luck to all the players!
by Pandaazuma, 2017/1/9


Copyright © 1996-2024 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising