News Archive:

Natsu 2023
Haru 2023
Hatsu 2023

Kyushu 2022
Aki 2022
Nagoya 2022
Natsu 2022
Haru 2022
Hatsu 2022

Kyushu 2021
Aki 2021
Nagoya 2021
Natsu 2021
Haru 2021
Hatsu 2021

Kyushu 2020
Aki 2020
Nagoya 2020
Natsu 2020
Haru 2020
Hatsu 2020

Kyushu 2019
Aki 2019
Nagoya 2019
Natsu 2019
Haru 2019
Hatsu 2019

Kyushu 2018
Aki 2018
Nagoya 2018
Natsu 2018
Haru 2018
Hatsu 2018

Kyushu 2017
Aki 2017
Nagoya 2017
Natsu 2017
Haru 2017
Hatsu 2017

Kyushu 2016
Aki 2016
Nagoya 2016
Natsu 2016
Haru 2016
Hatsu 2016

Kyushu 2015
Aki 2015
Nagoya 2015
Natsu 2015
Haru 2015
Hatsu 2015

Kyushu 2014
Aki 2014
Nagoya 2014
Natsu 2014
Haru 2014
Hatsu 2014

Kyushu 2013
Aki 2013
Nagoya 2013
Natsu 2013
Haru 2013
Hatsu 2013

Kyushu 2012
Aki 2012
Nagoya 2012
Natsu 2012
Haru 2012
Hatsu 2012

Kyushu 2011
Aki 2011
Nagoya 2011
Hatsu 2011

Kyushu 2010
Aki 2010
Nagoya 2010
Natsu 2010
Haru 2010
Hatsu 2010

Kyushu 2009
Aki 2009
Nagoya 2009
Natsu 2009
Haru 2009
Hatsu 2009

Kyushu 2008
Aki 2008
Nagoya 2008
Natsu 2008
Haru 2008
Hatsu 2008

Kyushu 2007
Aki 2007
Nagoya 2007
Natsu 2007
Haru 2007
Hatsu 2007

Kyushu 2006
Aki 2006
Nagoya 2006
Natsu 2006
Haru 2006
Hatsu 2006

Kyushu 2005
Aki 2005
Nagoya 2005
Natsu 2005
Haru 2005
Hatsu 2005

Kyushu 2004
Aki 2004
Nagoya 2004


Nagoya Basho 2019 - Winners
Makuuchi Yusho:M17 Ganzohnesushi (12-3; 105 points)
Juryo Yusho:J1 Haruibono (12-3; 102 points)
Makushita Yusho:m20 Cucumohana (14-1; 101 points)
Gino-sho:M17 Ganzohnesushi (12-3; 105 points)
Kanto-sho:M13 Yumezukuri (12-3; 103 points)
Shukun-sho:M6 Chocshoporyu (8-7; 102 points)
by Takanotaki, 2019/7/22

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 15
It was heartbreak for Yumezukuri, who has played Sumo Game since 2001 and has never won a Makuuchi yusho. He lost (due to Shohozan's loss to Tochiozan) and allowed Ganzohnesushi in to nip the glory. Ganzohnesushi was the divisional points leader and therefore won the tournament on the first tie-break rule. Congratulations to him on his second Makuuchi yusho.
The Juryo race was already decided but champion Haruibono lost today to jun yusho winner Unkonoyama. He won't mind that, though.
In Makushita both Golynohana and Cucumohana won their bouts and so the latter took the yusho by virtue of a superior points total.
Finally, it was relief for Ozeki Andonishiki as he secured a winning record on the final day and is therefore not kadoban next time.
Congratulations to all the winners. See you in September.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/21

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 14
Yumezukuri lost to Ozeki Yamashiro today but is still in control. He needs only to win tomorrow to take home the big prize. If he loses, Ganzohnesushi can take the yusho if he can win his match.
Haruibono wraps up the Juryo yusho a day early. Congratulations! Makushita is between Golynohana and Cucumohana. The latter need only win his match as his score is superior. Golynohana will need to win and hope his rival slips up.
And new Ozeki Andonishiki has recovered to 7-7. He can avoid kadoban next tournament by defeating Sekiwake Norizo.
Good luck to all the players!
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/20

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 12
Yumezukuri won again and his closest pursuer lost so he is now the hot favourite to take the big prize.
Haruibono lost in Juryo so Mainoumi and Unkonoyama are given renewed hope. And once again the four horsemen of the Makushita apocalypse all won. Amazing.
Sekiwake Norizo lost again and his ozeki run is now over. Ozeki Andonishiki has staged a spirited fightback and he now needs two wins out of three to avoid kadoban.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/18

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 11
Another day, another win for Yumezukuri, and he improves to 10-1. Trender is the only player within touching distance.
Haruibono marches on and remains two wins clear in Juryo. And the same four players all won again in Makushita. An epic battle there.
Ozeki Andonishiki has improved and is now 5-6. He needs three out of four to avoid kadoban. Sekiwake Norizo lost again and he must now win out to reach the second-highest rank.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/17

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 10
All the leaders won today in Makuuchi so Yumezukuri remains in the lead with 9 wins. He is brought up the banzuke to face sanyaku-level opposition tomorrow in the shape of Sekiwake Norizo. The sekiwake suffered a blow to his ozeki promotion hopes with a loss today but four wins out of five are still possible.
Haruibono marches on and is now two wins clear in Juryo. A nice jump up the rankings into the top division awaits in September. And the intrepid leading quartet won again in Makushita.
Finally, congratulations to Ozeki Yamashiro on clearing his kadoban status at this early stage. He will now turn his attention to winning a maiden yusho, which is one pre-requisite for yokozuna promotion.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/16

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 9
Sole leader Yumezukuri won again thanks to the Hakuho upset and he remains one win ahead of a chasing group of three that includes Ozeki Yamashiro. The kadoban ozeki needs only one more win in six days to retain his rank. Shin Ozeki Andonishiki has had a nightmare run after a promising start and he now needs five wins out of six against sanyaku level opponents to avoid being kadoban next tournament.
In Juryo Haruibono won again and is now 8-1, one win ahead of Mainoumi. Makushita is led by a group of four.
Finally, after a poor start, Sekiwake Norizo has put together an excellent run and he now stands at 6-3. Four more wins would give him 31 wins in three basho, enough for promotion to ozeki. The talented veteran has actually been promoted to the second rank once before, but he was immediately demoted after two losing records. Here's hoping for a little more luck this time.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/15

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 7
Ozeki Yamashiro lost today, leaving three Maegashira players at the top of the leader board. ScreechingOwl, Yassier and Yumezukuri are all 6-1.
Hakubayama lost, allowing Haruibono into the co-lead in Juryo. And, unusually, there are no unbeaten players left in Makushita. A group of five that includes gaming veterans Frinkanohana and Golynohana lead with six wins.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/13

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 5
Kadoban Ozeki Yamashiro is among the 4-1 co-leaders on day 5. He is the only sanyaku player in the group of six.
Hakubayama and Mainoumi are the unbeaten leaders of the Juryo division. And in Makushita, Frinkanohana, Cucumohana and Akinomori are setting the early pace.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/11

Nagoya Basho 2019 - Day 3
Welcome all to the Nagoya tournament. First of all, congratulations are in order to our new Ozeki Andonishiki, who deservedly received a promotion to the elite rank. He is off to a decent 2-1 start. Ozeki Yamashiro is kadoban this time but has had a perfect first three days and now needs only five more wins from twelve days to keep his rank. As for the sekiwake, promotions look highly unlikely this time.
The leaderboards are yet to form coherence so let's see where we stand in a day or two.
by Pandaazuma, 2019/7/9


Copyright © 1996-2023 japan-guide.com All rights reserved
site map, contact us, privacy policy, advertising