Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

6 Days Osaka in June 2013/2/24 00:47
Hi, this is my first time to Osaka (have been to Tokyo).

1. I only have 5 full days to spare, how many days should I spend in Osaka and which recommended side trip should I visit? e.g. Kyoto/Nara/Hiroshima etc.

2. Is it advisable/cheaper to book train tickets and accomodation by myself instead of tour packages? I can only speak English.

Appreciate your recommendations!
by jell (guest)  

Re: 6 Days Osaka in June 2013/2/24 08:39
I only have 5 full days to spare, how many days should I spend in Osaka and which recommended side trip should I visit? e.g. Kyoto/Nara/Hiroshima etc.

It depends on your personal interests! If you like history and tradition, I recommend to spend most of your time in Kyoto (at least 2 days) and Nara (at least one day) and possibly Hiroshima/Miyajima (1-2 days). Maybe Mount Koya (overnight stay at a temple). But if your interest is more with shopping and theme parks, I recommend to spend about three days in Osaka and the rest in Kyoto and Nara. Still, if you would like to see rural Japan, nature and nature, I would recommend side trips to Mount Koya, Kinosaki, maybe Kumano.

Is it advisable/cheaper to book train tickets and accomodation by myself instead of tour packages? I can only speak English.

Depends on what tour packages you have access to. But few tour packages can compete with the 1500 yen low-budget accommodations around Shinsekai if you are really serious about saving money.

As for short-distance transportation around Greater Osaka, there are various passes available, but moving around geographically wisely with a prepaid card is often the cheapest. Icoca&Haruka is often a good deal if you arrive at Kansai Airport:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2359_icoca_haruka.html