Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hokkaido (Driving) Trip Itinerary 2014/4/23 15:28
Hi,

My partner and I are planning our trip to Hokkaido between Sept 24th and Oct 1st. We are also spending 2 days before and after our trip in Tokyo. This is my first time in Hokkaido (4th time visiting Japan) but my partner worked in Esashi for a few years about 10years ago. She didn't get much chance to explore Hokkaido though. She's used to driving in the snow (if any in September) and driving 3hours+ doesn't worry us.

Here is our interim itinerary:

24th - Fly from Narita to New Chitose, arrive early in the morning. Rent car, drive to Hakodate. Arrive late afternoon, check in hotel, explore Hakodate, drive up Mt Hakodate for night lights.
25th - Explore Hakodate, if weather was bad the previous night, go to Mt Hakodate
26th - Check-out, Drive to Noboribetsu, check-in hotel, explore, onsen, dinner then onsen again :)
27th - Check-out, Drive to Furano, explore, possibly stay overnight, if not, drive to New Chitose to return rental car.
28th - Return rental car to New Chitose and/or explore Sapporo (mainly shopping, eating).
29th - Day trip to Otaru
30th - Explore Sapporo, more shopping and eating
1st - Fly back to Narita from New Chitose, leave a few hours to explore New Chitose airport

A few questions:

- Can you recommend any attractions/sights on our drive to Hakodate? We are thinking of going the 'long way' via Lake Shikotsu because we don't want to travel the same roads to Noboribetsu.

- Is there enough to see in Hakodate to justify staying 2 nights? At the same time, we don't want to feel rushed.

- Is it worth visiting Furano in September? Lavenders won't be in season but will the autumn flowers be as nice?

- Is it worth staying overnight at Furano?