Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

JR 7 day or 14 day pass? 2014/7/5 16:52
hi,

i've been to japan twice before (08/09) but this is my first time buying a JR pass. i'm a bit torn between buying a 7 day or 14 day - can i get some thoughts? i realise i'm spending a huge amount of time in tokyo, but i have lots of friends to catch up with!

my current itinerary is this and i was considering getting a 14 day pass and activating on the day i arrive.

tues oct 7 - tokyo (arrive 9am)
wed oct 8 - tokyo
thurs oct 9 - tokyo
fri oct 10 - tokyo
sat oct 11 - tokyo
sun oct 12 - kyoto
mon oct 13 - kyoto
tues oct 14 - kyoto
wed oct 15 - hiroshima
thurs oct 16 - hiroshima (inc miyajima)
fri oct 17 - osaka
sat oct 18 - nara
sun oct 19 - osaka
mon oct 20 - tokyo
tues oct 21 - tokyo
wed oct 22 - tokyo
thurs oct 23 - nakone
fri oct 24 - kamakura
sat oct 25 - tokyo
sun oct 26 - tokyo
mon oct 27 - tokyo
tues oct 28 - tokyo
wed oct 29 - tokyo
thurs oct 30 - tokyo (leave 11am)

however, would it be worth just visiting nara for half a day (making osaka/nara 2 days total) and just getting a 7 day pass? for the majority of my time in tokyo i'll be staying with a friend who lives on the keio sagamihara line which i obviously won't be able to use the JR pass for.

any ideas would be appreciated!
by xdaybydayx (guest)  

Re: JR 7 day or 14 day pass? 2014/7/5 22:08
For that itinerary, a 7 day would be best if you can get back to Tokyo in that 7 day period.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: JR 7 day or 14 day pass? 2014/7/5 22:33