Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Would this be useless? 2014/9/25 02:42
Would it be useless learning Hiragana and Katakana if I don't learn Kanji too?
I know it would be very difficult if not impossible to live in Japan without knowing basic kanji, but would I still be able to do other things such as reading a magazine or talking to a japanese person? I started learning Hiragana mostly for fun, and as I don't need it for school or anything I'm not sure I want to learn Kanji too.
by Carmen (guest)  

Re: Would this be useless? 2014/9/25 10:28
If you want to "live" in Japan using the local language, AND if you want to be able to read local magazines, yes, you need to be able to read kanji. Japanese writing use hiragana, katakana, and kanji all combined.

If you just want to be able to speak, you don't "have to" know kanji. But knowing kanji will definitely help to expand your vocabulary when you get to intermediate or advanced level :)

Some beginner's Japanese textbooks come with romanized writing first, but by the time you advance to the next level, they tend to use hiragana, katakana, and kanji combination for the textbooks too.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Would this be useless? 2014/9/25 12:20
Reading a magazine? Lol. Afaik, you'll really only be able to read kindergarten-level books without kanji.

Obviously knowing kanji won't affect your speaking abilities, though they will probably give you new vocab.

What are you trying to actually do though? If it's just those things, then you have your answer. Hiragana would also technically be useless though, I would say, unless you want to do Karaoke with furigana. Katakana is handy if you ever plan on going to Japan though.
by CherryLemonLime rate this post as useful

Re: Would this be useless? 2014/9/25 13:41
It's not useless.