Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Advice for a young traveller in Japan 2015/3/5 03:59
Hi there

I'm from London, and 18 years old, from London.

As part of my gap year travels before beginning university studies this September, I will be in Japan from the 2nd to 23rd Apri 2015.

This is my first time travelling alone - I know that Japan is not like other countries in Asia, such as Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam etc., in that it is not a 'backpacker-centric' country. My main fear is that, even if staying I'm hostels, I have a much lower chance of meeting other young, backpackers. If I can't find anyone to travel with at all, that's a scary thought.
I'm not sure if I'd enjoy that.

What advice do any of you have? Is there any way I can meet other young backpackers in Japan, be it online or once I get there? Even if they are Japanese, I don't mind at all. Just someone to accompany me on my travels. :)

Many thanks in advance
by AWald1  

Re: Advice for a young traveller in Japan 2015/3/5 11:29
Take your buddy from London.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Advice for a young traveller in Japan 2015/3/5 12:35
I wouldn't say Japan isn't a country for backpacking. I have seen quite a few of them while waiting for Willer buses and Shinkansen trains. If you choose to stay in hostels, I am certain you will meet some new friends especially if you participate in hostel events and activities.
by yozakura (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Advice for a young traveller in Japan 2015/3/5 12:42