Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How would I arrange a police ride-along? 2015/8/17 05:36
I am a police applicant in my home country (Canada) and one of the things I enjoy doing when on vacation for the last couple years is either going on a ride-along or shadowing an officer for a shift, just to see how things are different. I've had some interesting experiences around the US and Europe as a result.

I also did a big thesis paper in college about how variations of the koban/chuzaisho system could be implemented in Canadian police forces to improve community policing.

Since I am going to Japan in May of next year with my husband (also a police applicant), I know one thing we would really like to do is be able to shadow an officer for a shift (I know american style ride-alongs are not a thing there).

Problem is, I have no contacts, and speak minimal Japanese, so figuring out the japanese NPA websites and contacts is confusing. Does anyone know if this is possible or have any ideas of who I could contact? We will be mostly staying in Kyoto, but Osaka would be an option as well.
by Janna (guest)  

Re: How would I arrange a police ride-along? 2015/8/18 00:23
Here are the contact details for the police in Kyoto and Osaka respectively, but they both answer only by phone. They won't answer by email.

http://www.pref.kyoto.jp/fukei/site/koho_k/iken_yobo/index.html
http://www.police.pref.osaka.jp/09form/

Meanwhile, the Osaka police website had a link for the non-Japanese and it led to the Prefectural Government's information corner for foreigners.
http://www.pref.osaka.lg.jp/annai/madoguchi/detail.php?recid=566

As shown, their email address is
jouhou-c@ofix.or.jp

Hope your trip will be fullfilling!
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: How would I arrange a police ride-along? 2015/8/18 08:42