Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tokyo Geidai/ living as an artist in Japan 2016/2/9 14:04
Hello,
I'm wondering if anyone has attended, or knows anything about Tokyo University of the Arts (Geidai).
After having visited Japan a few times, I have decided I would really like to live in Tokyo. I've been looking at the graduate programs in music from Geidai, but I don't know if it would be a good idea at all to get a degree in music in Japan or if the school is good.

I have an undergraduate degree in music production from Berklee College of Music. I've seen a lot of questions about jobs in Japan but I haven't read anything related to the arts. Would it be different in a way to find jobs in the music business?
I'd like to hear if there's somebody who is doing music or art related jobs and how they got in Japan.

Thanks
by krk (guest)  

Re: Tokyo Geidai/ living as an artist in Japan 2016/2/9 15:43
Hi. I'm a Japanese and an undergraduate student (not art related). Geidai is the best university of arts in Japan. I think it is not so different in the way to find jobs. Of course it depends what kind of job you want. Also there could be some jobs for students at Geidai, because they are the elite and businesses want them.
But you should learn Japanese language if you want to make a living in the arts field in Japan.
by y.o (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Tokyo Geidai/ living as an artist in Japan 2016/2/9 21:54
I am not an artist either, so I hope the OP gets some responses from them, but Geidai is considered the Todai of arts. It's the best you can get.

That said, Geidai gradutes themselves say that you're practically creating the poor at Geidai. It's very difficult to make money as a professional artist in Japan. Many qualified artists make money by doing side jobs such as teaching.