Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can I learn Japanese in a year 2016/7/28 15:02
Now I know what your thinking and I know the answer is no but hear me out first.

So I am a high school student and I've been learning Japanese for a year (half way through now) properly now which includes study and that but I have also been learning it on and off for the past 3 years as well except my Japanese is still not good at all and I still only know basic stuff but for quite awhile I've been planning to do an exchange and would love to do one to Japan. Seeming it's 2016 and I would most likely like to do one In 2018 if possible I would also like to do an exchange while I'm still a high school student myself so I was wondering how roughly 18 months of hard studying would get me and if it would get me to a level good enough for me to get by and be able to have basic conversation with a host family and peers as such. I'm not asking to be fluent I'm just wondering if it'll get to me a reasonable level of understanding of the language and enough to be able to survive and still have a good time.

I know it's a long question and to anyone that reads it and can answer it THANKYOU! But I have one last part as well.

Now I know a lot of people are going to read this a still probably think that's not a long enough amount of time still and I know that also but I want to know what the best methods are for practising and learning. I'm doing Japanese classes pretty much every day and studying on my own but I know school classes can slow down the learning process as there are other students so I was wondering what methods were the best for learning and helped to learn and memorise quick and easy (although I know it's me very easy) especially with things like Kanji.

Any help or comment would help massively!
by Charley (guest)