Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

tourist to student + visa run 2017/1/19 17:45
Hello !
I'm a bit confused and worried about re-entering Japan as a tourist next month because I intend to stay here longer and change my status from tourist to student.

Some more information about my situation:
I'm Belgian, in Osaka on a temporary stay without visa (part of visa waiver program) since 1st December. Planning on leaving the country around 1st February to meet my friend in Seoul for a week and then taking a plane to Tokyo. (It's my first time in Japan and I'll only have used 2 months out of the 3 that I was granted for my first stay)
I intend to stay in Tokyo as a tourist for a bit less than 2 months, and then I'll start studying Japanese at a language school in Tokyo for 6 months, classes start in early April.
At first I thought that I wouldn't be able to change my status while staying in Japan but the company that's taking care of my enrollment at the language school said that it was possible as long as I'm in Tokyo to collect the CoE in February and that there's still enough days left on my 90 days tourist stay for the paperwork to be done in March, which is fine since I'll only be spending about 60 days as a tourist before I start classes.

Now here's my question:
I don't know what to state on the paper at immigration when I re-enter Japan as a tourist. Should I say that I intend to stay for 60 days since that's the duration of my stay as a tourist or should I say I'm planning on staying for 8 months ? (2 months tourist + 6 months student)
I've read many posts on forums but I couldn't find any situation similar to mine. (re-entering as tourist while expecting to change status to student without leaving the country).