Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japanese pretend they don't know? 2017/3/19 16:21
I have noticed that Japanese tend to ask same questions or play they haven't heard about some story, gossip before even though they have already heard about that from some other? They just don't want to reveal that they know that...

Another question. My friend has a Japanese wife and she knows I used to live in Japan for one year, in the same city as she used before moving to my home country. But she never asks about it, how was the living in Japan, where I studied etc. Is this typical, or is she's not just interested or doesn't want to bother me?
by Monkiki (guest)  

Re: Japanese pretend they don't know? 2017/3/20 10:35
How do you know they already know?

Why do you expect her to ask you personal questions?

A lot seems to depend on your relationships with them.
by ....:.. (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Japanese pretend they don't know? 2017/3/20 11:58
BIG disclaimer: people are individuals, and you're going to see wide variations in any culture. So what I'm talking about is where the bell curve is centered, and nothing more.

If you are telling them some story they already know they might play along as if you're telling them something new, in order 1) so that they don't appear confrontational and 2) to allow you to save face (since if you appeared to be a fool telling people things they already know you could lose face.)
by gfoulk rate this post as useful

Re: Japanese pretend they don't know? 2017/3/20 12:22
Primarily it depends on the person and your relationship with them, especially for your second comment.