Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Phrasing goodbye 2022/6/13 08:53
Hi everyone.

I am leaving my ALT position at a BOE after three years here with the same students.
I have an excellent relationship with the students and the teachers. So much so that they want to give me a ceremony and have me give a speech.

My Japanese is decent for daily conversation, but I have no experience in using Japanese to quit.
I'm assuming I can't just say I'm quitting. I'm sure there's some long phrase in Japanese when people quit a job.

I found a lot of phrases online for quitting a Japanese company, but no specific phrases when addressing students (junior high level) regarding my departing.

I want to convey that I'm proud of them, I've loved my time with them, I'm sad that I'm quitting, I hope they continue giving their best with English education, and that I will still live around the area and hope to see them around town.

Can anyone help me say those sentiments in Japanese in a friendly, but polite way?

Thank you.
by Quitting School (guest)  

Re: Phrasing goodbye 2022/6/13 22:12
You will probably be asked by some of the students what you will be doing after this, but you donft have to put it in the speech. Can I suggest something like the following?

Kyou wa, watashi no o-wakare kai wo hiraite kurete, arigatou.
(Thank you for holding a farewell assembly for me today.)

Minna to wakareru no wa sabishii desu.
(I am going to miss you.)

Minna wo, san-nen kan oshieru koto ga dekite, ureshiku omotte imasu.
(I am happy that I have been able to teach you for 3 years.)

Soshite, isshou kenmei benkyou shite iru minna wo, hokorashiku omotte imasu.
(And I am proud of all of you, who have been putting full efforts into studying.)

Korekara mo, eigo wo manabu koto wo tanoshinde kudasai.