Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to address a Japanese envelope? 2008/2/25 10:10
Last week, I got a really cute Rirakkuma letter set from a friend in Japan to write letters with. I've written her a letter back, but I'm not sure how to go write the address on the envelope. I've never used Japanese stationery before!

I know that her postal code goes on the seven small boxes on the upper right side, and that the stamp/stamps go on the upper left side, but not much else. I can write her address in Japanese, but is it preferable to write in English instead? There are five lines
in the center of the envelope below the postal code boxes and the place you put the stamp, so should I write it there? How do I write it? I don't know where to write my own address, either. I'm sorry that I'm asking so many questions, but I want the letter to get to her. I also don't want to prove my stupidity. xD; So, um, help please?

Thanks!
by Minnie  

how to send a letter to japan 2008/2/25 13:30
First, how to write an address. In Japan, the common way to write an address is like this:
[bs
Postcode

Name of Perfecture Name of Region Name of Block
Address

Name of Receiver + Kanji: -Sama

So here, we see that in Japan, an address usually started with the post code, then going from the wider area to the more specific ones. In my country, it's backwards. We started with the name of the receiver and end with the postcode. On Japanese style envelope, you have to write it top down. From a bit at the right side from the center of the envelope start writing the post code from top to bottom, then work your way to the left by specifying the address and then the name of the receiver.