Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Teaching French in Japan? 2008/4/5 19:26
Hello All,

My question is similar to the last one (posted on 2007), but under different circumstances. I am a Romanian, having a strong background in French language(university and post university studies), and I'd like to know if it's possible to get a job as a French teacher anywhere in Japan.
The thing is that I did teach French in Romania but in private only, so I have no certified experience in that.
Are there any chances to make this dream come true, or it's a big "No way"?
What do you think?

Thank you very much, and have a great day!
by Daria  

... 2008/4/7 19:09
Compared to English conversation lessons, the demand for French language in Japan would be less, I'd say.

Rather than that, one question comes to mind: are you a native speaker of the French language? I think that's the first thing schools would look for in a teacher. If you mean that you "majored" in the French language or French literature, that means you learned it as a second (or maybe third, I don't know) language. If you mean that you attended a university where the lectures were conducted all in French, or possibly attended a university in France, that would be a strong plus.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: 2008/4/8 18:31
Hello AK,

Thank you very much for your reply to my previous question.
I am not a native speaker of French, but I attended a university where the lectures were conducted all in French indeed (Romania is a Latin country, so many people speak French since kindergarten (we have a very high-level of this language). As well, I hold 2 Master degrees, both conducted entirely in French, by French teachers and researchers.