Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to reach my goal 2008/6/21 13:52
I am a current student in the US for criminal justice. I am starting a second school to study Japanese. I plan on studying till i get my bachelors in Criminal Justice. So when i am finished i should have a bachelors in Japanese language. My goal is to be a detective in Tokyo or near Okinawa dealing with American tourist or military cases. I have been studying Japanese laws to help in this process. I guess i am wondering what else i need to do to obtain my goal. My main goal is to live, work and die in japan. Possibly join the Japanese military to help in my transition there. Any thoughts on this will be helpful thank you.
by Eric  

Reality check 2008/6/23 10:13
Eric,

I believe you need to be a Japanese citizen to join either the Police or SDF. Japan always needs foreigners fresh out of college to be English teachers though...
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

entry into field 2008/6/23 11:40
Even if you plan on putting in the many number of years in Japan to get permanent residency and eventually citizenship, it's unlikely that you'll be able to enter those fields because of your age. Police recruit young new graduates and these people slowly move up the ranks on an escalator system. Mid-career job transfers into such positions are extremely rare.

Instead, a military police position on an American armed forces base in Japan might be a more realistic option for you.
by chan_konabe rate this post as useful

Has anyone actually seen? 2008/6/23 12:11
Any foreigners working for the Keisatsu?@I highly doubt they'd ever employ a Non Japanese person who they would let patrol the streets. You don't even see this in America. Most cops are born and bred Americans.
by Nagalumb rate this post as useful