Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hokkaido and North East in October 2010/6/8 08:57
Hi,
This is my first time in the Hokkaido + North Eastern region in Japan. I'm having a hard time to plan the route because of the timing to see the Autumn Foliage. Any suggestions to me will be appreciated. Thanks!

We fly to Sapporo either on Oct 8 or 15 for a total of 18 days trip (last 3 nights must be in Tokyo as we fly out in Narita Airport) Need your advise before buying the Tix as I don't know if I should start the trip a week earlier for the red leaves viewing in Hokkaido and also at the Hakunodate/onsen area. Please advise!

Our interests for the trip are: Autumn Foliage, scenic/nature, places for great seafood/beef, Onsen (prefer mixed bath with outdoor one, traditional ryokan type and not the 100 rooms resort type)

We will buy a JR pass an prefer to drive the scenic area in the east of Hokkaido or in part of the Northeastern region such as from maybe Akita to Tazawako area for onsen and viweing of autumn foliage.

Here're the places I'm thinking of and what do you think of the order + the use/location of Rental car?
Thinking of 9-10 days in Hokkaido and leaves us some time maybe 5-6 days to stop in places in Akita or maybe if time is possible, at Yamadera/Yonezawa area on the way back to Tokyo by train.

Day 1 & 2: Sapporo
Day 3: Kushiro (Pick up rental car),
DAy 4: Lake Akan
Day 5: Abashiri (return rental car)
Day 6: Sounkyo
Day 7: Otaru
Day 8 & 9: Hakodate
(Next: Scenic train by the Japan sea and get off at akita)
Day 10 & 11: Akita (pick up rental car) to Hakunodate and stay 2 nights at Nyuto-onsenkyo
Day 12 & 13: Yamadera and Yonezawa, overnight in onsen area close to Yonezawa