Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Christmas airfare 2010/9/21 09:57
A friend of mine has been living in Japan for a while, but she's just decided to come back to Hawaii over Christmas and has offered me use of her apartment in Tokyo if I wanted to visit. As it's a random last minute thing, I don't have much money saved. A brief check on Expedia showed me airfare around $1700 out of Honolulu. Are these prices likely to rise or fall? Is Tokyo a big Christmas destination?

I know that when I fly domestically, it's often times cheaper if I fly on a holiday like New Years Eve. Does this apply to International flights to Japan?

Would it be worthwhile to check with a travel agency? I've never used one before but I know we have a few that are geared toward Japan-- KLM I think?

I've been to Japan once for a week in the spring, and I'm hoping to study abroad there next summer. Would it be worth it to do a cheap holiday there? Mostly wandering around but not spending much except food and transportation.

I know these are rather subjective questions, but I thought it'd be nice to get some opinions. It seems a shame to turn down such an offer, especially since college makes Christmas and summer breaks the only practical time to travel. Thank you!
by sophielynette (guest)  

yea 2010/9/21 13:30
Honestly I've been keeping track of the fares to Japan, and I've seen them only go up up and up...for Christmas, expect the same...While it may be possible to find a last minute fare for cheaper, long gone are the days where you could fly RT to japan for $700-$800

$1700 is a bit steep, have you tried flexible days? You may be able to shave it down to $1500 or so..not too sure about the market in Hawaii!