Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tokyo for two weeks 2010/9/22 07:40
I'm a student in germany.

I'm interested in japan and want maybe do my practical semster (5-6 months) in japan but before I want go there and travel around Tokyo(shibuya?) to be sure that it is the right decision

My problem:

I want go to japan for 2 weeks
(within 8 february - 15 march)
I need a cheap hotel
(I need only a bed in a room) or somthing like that.
I can speak little bit japanese but not fluently.

Can someone help me ?
by Ryuichi90  

Oak Hotel 2010/9/22 13:03
If you do not mind sharing a room and bathroom with 3 other strangers - then this is the cheapest place I have stayed (2000 yen). It is quite nice with free usage of computers available at the lobby (might have to queue up as stimes it might be busy with ppl - alternatively surf in the early morning!)

The kitchen is available for usage - so you could cook anything light if you want - some of the ppl who stayed there cook eggs/instant noodles for breakfast - thereby saving money on breakfast but go all out during lunch n dinner ; )

No fridge though in the dormitory and you have to bring your own towel (rent is available or you could just buy one)

It is near convenient stores and inaricho tokyo metro station. It is about 10 -15 min walking distance to Ueno JR station. The ppl at the reception understands basic/middle level english and they caters to backpackers/ budget tourists so they could help with lots of planning - like asking for certain places to go etc. So I highly recommend it.

Alternatively - if u r not into sharing - you could find budget place with a single room but shared bathroom - should be around 3000 yen or slightly more. Enjoy the planning!!

For places not in Tokyo - do try K House websites. I have been to K House Fuji and it was good.