Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hiking around Senjogahara Marshland in March 2012/1/27 13:00
Hi everyone,

I'm visiting Nikko on March 6 and will visit the Senjogahara Marshland. I would love to walk the short hiking trail mentioned here: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3811.html and here: http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/expreadisplay.html?aID=100016. However, it seems there is a chance that there will be snow on the trail. I have no experience with snow and I will be walking on my own. I've been unable to find any other information about the trail (in English, at least).

Could anyone answer these questions - is it well-marked? Is it likely to be impassable with snow? Are there likely to be other people on the trail at that time of year? I'd love to do the walk, but I don't want to risk getting lost or being unprepared for the conditions.

I hope there is someone who can give me some advice or direct me to more information. Thank you in advance!
by acele (guest)  

Re: Hiking around Senjogahara Marshland in March 2012/1/27 13:59
out of season.

Dont go.
by abunaiyo (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Hiking around Senjogahara Marshland in March 2012/1/27 18:56
I live a few train stops south of Nikko and am planning to go hiking/snow walking in early February. I've heard good and bad things about hiking in winter, but I wouldn't lose much money by going to see for myself since I live so close. I'll let you know how it is and hopefully that can help you for March.
by Lihua (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Hiking around Senjogahara Marshland in March 2012/1/27 19:16