Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 8 of 11: Posts 141 - 160 of 218
prev
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
next

Couple of quick questions... 2009/11/15 12:50
I've read this whole thread and have found it EXTREMELY helpful! I'm only in my first year of college so I won't be an ALT for a couple of years, but am doing as much research as I can beforehand. I know a couple of ALTs who didn't research at all about who hired them and where they would be placed. To say the least, they didn't end up doing to well over in Japan. I've always wanted to travel and learn about other cultures for so long, so I hope by researching my experience will be much more pleasant! :)

So far I have only learned about JET because everyone raves about how great it is, but I know JET is very competitive and is hard to get into so I've been learning about Interac now which seems like the next best option! I have a couple of questions about Interac that may seem quite silly, so please bear with me. :P

I know people were saying that Interac makes you more independent compared to JET, so I was wondering more about that. You buy your airplane ticket to Japan, you show up, then what? I know you have training, but how do you find out where and where do you stay while training?

Also I saw someone mentioned that Interac does not find you an apartment like JET does - that means you have to find yourself some place to stay before you even arrive in Japan?