Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Intro to Japanese food 2013/2/24 11:24
I will be going to Japan for 6 months. The others I am going will are what they call foodies and like all kinds of food especially Japanese. I am more excited about the other aspects of going to Japan. Honestly I have never tried Japanese food before. They keep saying I am in for a rude awakening. I am not picky, I just do not know what to expect other than all the answers I received on Yahoo saying "Sushi! Ramen! Sushi!"

What are typical meals for someone on a modest budget who enjoys cooking for themselves. What are typical foods available and cost effective? I am hoping people who currently live in Japan could tell me what THEY actually make for themselves. Very curious.
by NotAFoodie (guest)  

Re: Intro to Japanese food 2013/2/24 16:24

Before getting together with my lady that loves to cook, I usually made ramen, curry rice, soups and also many fish dishes other than sushi. I also like to make gyoza.

Well, as many people notice, those are not real "traditional" Japanese meals, but still very popular in modern day Japan.

I made much western food also. I think people don't prepare traditional Japanese food that much at home anymore.
by kodama (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Intro to Japanese food 2013/2/24 16:50
by Itadakimasu (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Intro to Japanese food 2013/2/26 00:54
For home cooking, a good example of traditional food would be rice, grilled fish, and a couple of side dishes. Side dishes might be stewed vegetables, salad or tofu.

As mentioned above, there is a lot of variety though, and particularly families with younger children will often make curry, spaghetti, hamburg steak, etc.
by ChicagoMike rate this post as useful

Re: Intro to Japanese food 2013/2/26 04:35