Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Bad JTE-ALT Chemistry? 2013/7/3 22:29
So here's a little background. I'm new to Japan. I moved a few months ago. The last ALT was rather infamous. From what I gathered, he repeatedly hit on the JTE, even though she was engaged. So, it JUST happens that we have the same hometown. Like I said, I'm a brand new ALT, and training can only take you so far, so I'm a little clumsy and awkward without experience. In short, I'm learning the ropes.

So here's the problem. She doesn't like me at all. I believe she didn't like me from the start. All chatter is task-oriented and professional, and she's a very social person. She will talk to the other teachers and even the T3, but I'm am just left alone. Even in the meetings, I am alienated when the other ALTs and JTEs drive to the meeting and talk (she gets a coordinator to pick me up). So, today, I wanted to do something nice for all the teachers. I bought senbei for everyone. She is the only one that refused, and every complimented me on my gift.

So has anyone ever experienced this? What is the best solution? Right now, the atmosphere is just toxic.
by Byzantine (guest)  

Re: Bad JTE-ALT Chemistry? 2013/7/4 12:32
just continue being as nice as you can and remain professional, don't do something that will make your relationship go sour.

she may be tired of her job or she may be unsure about your teaching skill or she may not agree with the way you teach. just do your best and be very friendly and polite with her, without being pushy or needy. she'll probably warm up. and if not well you can always search for another position.

give it a few months
by winterwolf (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Bad JTE-ALT Chemistry? 2013/7/4 21:22