Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

decision to go to japan 2013/7/10 09:48
For those of you who left your home country and now live in japan, how did you come to the decision to get up and leave everything and go to japan? Was it an easy decision for you?

I graduated a year ago and have been working full time for a year and about to be finished with my CPA exams and am planning on going to language school for 6 months to a year after my exams. I am unsure about leaving because I think it might stall my career and just leaving everything behind, but I am half japanese and have always wanted to experience living there. I visited many times and I love it.
by happa (guest)  

Re: decision to go to japan 2013/7/10 14:39
Hi Happa
So i too am half Japanese and upped and left to live in Japan the first time when i was 21. I had visited 6 or so times before then. I was studying a Biomedical Sciences degree at the time but it wasn't doing it for me but upped and left after 3 years. So that is a bit different to your circumstance.
I have now lived in Japan 3 times and each of those 3 times have been the best 3 periods of my life by a long, long way and i have had some amazing times in my home country.
As for stalling your career, well it may but it may not (how helpful is that?!). I completely changed careers and yes, it may have set me back a few years but for the experience of living in Japan, the career hiatus was an easy trade off. I think the fact i've done it 3 times now shows how much i loved it. I'm now settled in my life back in Australia and on par with and even ahead of most of my friends in terms of career progression but they don't have that amazing experience to look back on of having lived in Japan, or anywhere overseas for that matter.