Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to become a vet in Japan from Canada? 2013/9/15 23:31
I've always wanted to become a vet since I was of the age of 3. I am now 15 years old and I want to become one more then even. I also have always wanted to move to Japan after high school. I realized that I couldn't do both which is to study veterinarian medicine in Canada and move to Japan after. I can't do this because Japan and Canada have 2 different learning systems. So, I plan on going to the University of Hokkaido to study to become a veterinarian. I am also learning Japanese but I am only a beginner! Any helpful tips or ideas to;
1)Learn Japanese
2)Get accepted into Hokkaido University
3)Become a vet in Japan if you are a gaijin.

Thanks you !! :)
by Kira (guest)  

Re: How to become a vet in Japan from Canada? 2013/9/16 09:26
If you learn the language, pass the exam to the veteriary study department of Hokkaido University, graduate, then you can get licensed in Japan as a vet. But note that certain occupations come with national license, which means if you get licensed in Japan as a vet, that's where you stay (unless there is some program in Canada to recognize Japanese license).

People who want to attend university in Japan usually attend a language school in Japan full-time for a year and a half or two years to get their language proficiency to a level where they can follow classes in Japanese, so you are looking at many years of studying before you can become a vet.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How to become a vet in Japan from Canada? 2013/9/16 10:18
One important thing people should keep in mind:
Japan is very homogeneous and people don't really go toward foreigners.