Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japan's history seen in everyday life? 2013/11/27 04:06
I keep reading about Japan's history being intertwined into everyday life. Even in extremely modern places like Tokyo, you can still see bits and pieces of Japan's history and traditions.

...but how? I do not mean any offense. I am new to learning about Japan and when I first saw Tokyo I just saw an extremely modern city.

Can anyone gives examples of how Japan's history is still alive despite being so modern?
by Benedict (guest)  

Re: Japan's history seen in everyday life? 2013/11/27 10:16
Tokyo's history is not so extensive compared to other parts of the country, but remnants of the past do exist.

There are a lot of small monuments, signs, and markers of places throughout the city. Some only note what was formerly there, but others do point to remnmants (although generally very small). If you are not looking for them, they are easy to miss. There are walking guide books and pamphlets of Tokyo districts made precisely for people who want to get a closer look at Tokyo and discover such places.

Of course, there are also larger historic spots, such as temples, shrines, gardens, etc that have history and are popular for visiting.
by Vac (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Japan's history seen in everyday life? 2013/11/27 13:22
"Intertwined into everyday life"? I suppose you (or whoever you heard it from) are refering to things like people following superstitions, or people using traditional "furoshiki" wrapping cloths for bags and covers, or kids buying shrine charms just for luck on their coming exams... things like that.