Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Do you find Japanese to be ambiguous? 2014/2/23 23:34
Hi all! I've been studying Japanese for 4 years, 2 years in university and the following two years in self study. I'm wondering if other Japanese learners find or have found Japanese to be ambiguous in nature? An example I'll use is my favorite anime name "Tonari no kaibutsu kun". If you break down the sentence literally you have neighbor, or something beside you "tonari" the possessive "no" and then monster "kaibutsu kun". However, the translation usually is "The monster sitting beside me" yet the verb "to sit" is no where in the title.

This is what I mean. Often I find that the raw Japanese and the English translation usually are a far cry apart, making me wonder if there is in general a lot of room for interpretation when working with Japanese.

Opinions, thoughts?

by MariNihon  

Re: Do you find Japanese to be ambiguous? 2014/2/24 19:33
This is just a "translator" adding additional information when there wasn't any reason to do so. There is nothing in the Japanese title implying "sit".
by Firas (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Do you find Japanese to be ambiguous? 2014/2/24 22:30
No, that is not inherent in the language. As the vocabulary definition is different from one language to another, those variations in translation are usual.

That phrase might be translated into something like: the monster next to me, the monster living next door, my neighbor, monster, etc. the friendly meaning added by -kun in Japanese gets lost in the English, so translators would try to add the somewhat humorous/friendly tone into the English as well. Adding "sitting" immediately takes away the fear that might normally be associated with the word "monster."
by AK rate this post as useful