Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Struggling student currently in Japan 2014/10/5 22:35
Hello, Japan-guide forum!

I am a university student currently studying engineering in Japan. I have been here for three weeks, and it has been rather difficult communicating. I am hoping to get advice from anyone willing to help.

I diligently studied Japanese for 5 semesters at my home university, always earning A's in my reading/writing and listening/speaking classes. In January, my J-CAT score was 160 and improved a little by May. I worked a time consuming internship over the summer, and tried to study and retain as much Japanese as I could, but by the end of the summer my J-CAT score had dropped to 140.

Since you do not get as much speaking and listening practice in the classroom, that is where I am struggling the most. When someone says something to me, I am only able to catch a few words. Though, I think this may be because my vocabulary is very limited. I find myself constantly having to look up words. It seems there are many words and grammar structures frequently used in normal/casual conversation that were never taught in my classes.

As for speaking, I am a shy person, but I think speaking Japanese is fun so I'm never nervous to try. But for some reason, my mind goes blank sometimes when I'm trying to speak. I remain calm, but I have a really hard time replying. Maybe it's because I'm not able to fully understand the question, due to me not catching every word that was said.

My communication is improving very slowly, but it's still very difficult. I have a tutor and I'm taking four Japanese classes at school, but I suppose I need to make more friends who are willing to help me practice listening and speaking, huh?

Thanks for reading my post.

What are your thoughts?
by Wachikinow