Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

gender roles etc? 2015/1/16 01:55
I know both of these have been brought up before but I wanna start a new discussion on it...
first of all, I was wondering about the usage of boku/ore/watashi. I'm a 14-year-old agender (genderqueer) trans guy (meaning I'm agender but present mainly "as a guy") and I feel drawn to using "ore" in place of "watashi".
is it appropriate to use "ore" at this age?
I'm a beginner Japanese student but my dream is to become an English teacher in Japan someday, and I guess the way things are I would end up doing that as a "man". Does anyone know if it would be possible to introduce myself as genderqueer?? I've asked my Japanese friend about it previously and found numerous resources on the subject. there does not seem to be a strong genderqueer community in Japan but it is becoming more fashionable to present androgynously.
ノンジェンダア or Xジェンダア seem to be good, but do you think I would freak out a potential penpal or friend if I introduce myself this way?
"私は男性でもない、女性でもないけど、女性の体で生まれました。代名詞的には男性で呼ばれてます。" My Japanese friend given me this sentences for examples. Does it sound strange? Should I just stick to presenting as a guy? Thx in advance!!^_^
by souleater8  

Re: gender roles etc? 2015/1/16 08:11
It's better to use "Watashi".
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: gender roles etc? 2015/1/16 13:10
Regardless of age, "ore" is a term that males are expected to use only among friends. It's not very polite to use it when speaking to someone older than you or someone you don't know well.

The nuetral term for a 14 year old male to use is "boku". This term can be used at any situation if you're as young as 14. But then, it's not really too weird for a 14 year old boy to use "watashi" either.