Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Honorifics: -kyouju vs. -hakase 2015/5/21 10:43
I am a graduate student at Notre Dame and I have a Japanese collaborator from RIKEN coming to my office tomorrow afternoon to ask some questions about a computer code used in my field a lot. I wish to be polite in addressing the man and was looking up honorifics other than sensei since the wikipedia article made it seem like that was not suitable for people who are very accomplished academically.

After some searching I found -hakase and -kyouju. I have seen a lot of mention of hakase but not much of kyouju and was wondering what the difference was and which was better.
by James (guest)  

Re: Honorifics: -kyouju vs. -hakase 2015/5/21 17:49
If the man from RIKEN has a Ph.D. degree, you can call him "++ hakase" or "++ sensei". "++ sensei" is more common and sound natural in JP.
If the man is a technical staff or not an academic staff who has non Ph.D. holder, call him "++ san".

Kyouju(full professor) is an academic position in teaching schools for tertiary education. RIKEN doesn't call their staff Kyouju. RIKEN doen't have a Kyouju position. The principal researcher or higher position is equivalent to Kyouju position in RIKEN structure, so it depends on the man's position.

But there are many Kyouju staffs who have non Ph.D. degree, so it depends the man is an academic staff or technical staff you should call him.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Honorifics: -kyouju vs. -hakase 2015/5/21 21:17
Thank you very much for the information!

The man holds a Ph.D. and an appointment with The Center for Nuclear Study at University of Tokyo as an assistant professor.

Since Kyouju is for full professors, I will use -hakase unless he corrects me.

Thank you again!
by James (guest) rate this post as useful