Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Something to say to Japanese customers? 2015/7/22 06:38
Hi,

I have little to no chance of practicing my Japanese, so I am getting really rusted. I work as a cashier in a convenience store, and I do get some Japanese customers on several occasions. There's not much for me to say to any customers, beside just the old "hi" and "thank you".

I am curious, what are the things that Japanese cashiers say to customers? How do I say phrases like "How can I help you" or "What's the problem", or things like that in Japanese? Anything to say like "Thanks for shopping" when you hand them the receipt? Is this a good idea, though? It might be weird to them to hear me speak Japanese for no good reason, right?

I'm Vietnamese and I speak Vietnamese to my Vietnamese customers with no problem, even though they might or might not know I am Vietnamese. But when it comes to Japanese, I'm not so sure. :P
by Lightning Waifu (guest)  

Re: Something to say to Japanese customers? 2015/7/22 15:55
Obvious ones would be:
- Irasshaimase. ("Welcome to our store" - upon customer entering the store.)
- Arigatou gozaimashita. ("Thank you" - upon handing them the receipt.)
These would be nice, if you know that they are Japanese.

If there are several cashiers, and customers are lining up in one queue for a cashier to become available, and if the next customer is Japanese, if you want to get that person's attention and get them to come to your cashier,
- Tsugi ni o-machi no kata, douzo. ("The next person waiting, please." meaning please come my way.)

There are other phrases like "Nani ka o-sagashi desu ka?" (Looking for something?) which might come in handy, but can you carry on the conversation from there?
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Something to say to Japanese customers? 2015/7/22 15:55