Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Limited to Americans, English & Australian? 2015/7/24 11:34
I am so sorry. But the threads that I saw were like 100 days and older so I was hoping to get some answers here. I have already posted on existing threads with no replies so here goes.

I am currently a Language Coach (corporate training) for an American Company.

I am Filipino-Japanese and speak English with an American accent. I was born in Japan, went to an international school for preschool and then moved to the Philippines and finished my studies here.

I've always passed my English subjects with flying colors and I know for a fact that my English is better than most (here in the Philippines). I have a lot of "Native English Speakers" who tell me I speak really good, and sound American.

So my question is are they going to consider my application even if I am not a "Native English Speaker"?
by ladyviruz15  

Re: Limited to Americans, English & Australian? 2015/7/24 15:30
Unfortunately the question is not exactly how you sound - but more where you completed your schooling. To the best of my knowledge - you need to complete 12 years of schooling in an English speaking country or International School to be classed as an English First Language speaker.

You also need to have any completed university degree preferably in an English First Language country.
by mfedley rate this post as useful

Re: Limited to Americans, English & Australian? 2015/7/24 20:26
That answer doesn't sound "unfortunate" since it means that the OP is qualified. I'm sure mfedley knew that the official language of the Philippines is English.
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: Limited to Americans, English & Australian? 2015/7/25 00:31
English is actually one of the two official languages in the Philippines.