Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Wa and ha... Words and particles? 2015/9/18 03:07
So, I am trying to really understand something. I thought I understood when which is used where, and yet last night I found myself scratching my head. (I am very new to Japanese if you can't tell :P)

In the word:
こんいちは
The word is read (konnichiwa).

Same with this word:
こんばんは
The word is read (konbanwa).

Very simple. But why is it read "ha" and not "wa"?!

I could have sworn "は" (ha) was for the particle "wa" while "わ" was for spelling out "wa" as in わたし(私は/watashi) for example.

I understand it all comes down to full words, kanji and so on and so forth, but for a beginner, how do I know when to use which one for spelling? Any other words I should know off the top of your head that are spelled the same way (NO KANJI YET, PLEASE. I only know a very small amount of Kanji right now and it's definitely not going to help me understand the hirigana spelling.)

I'm asking this question because I was studying with my Genki series and I noticed those two words were spelled that way and I apparently had been spelling it wrong my whole life!
by MiraDibbz  

Re: Wa and ha... Words and particles? 2015/9/18 13:54
Hi :)
"わ" is read (wa only)
”は” is read (ha or wa)

In the case of almost all ”は” is read (ha).
For example:
(1) 母(mother)is read はは (haha)
(2)歯(a tooth)is read は (ha)
(3)葉っぱ(a leaf) is read はっぱ(happa)

well. "は" is used as words to the subjective genitive.
Then ”は” is read (wa).

For example:
(1)こんにちは (I think "konnitiha" is hard to say. "konnitiwa" is easy to say.)
(2)こんばんは
(3)私は、
(4) あなたは、

notes:
 ”こんにちは” and "こんばんは" is an abbreviated word.

The following is correct.
For example:
(1)こんにちは、暑いですね =Today is hot.
This is near to "Good afternoon, you don't feel hot?" in an English nuance.