Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Stressing 2016/2/1 11:38
My 3 sisters and I are moving to Kawasaki and planning to work in Tokyo as soon as we all finish with our bachelor's degrees (I finish next year). I am stressing because my major is Substance Abuse Counseling and I can only speak beginner Japanese. I don't know what the salary of the counselor's are in Japan so my sisters keep saying teach English or be a concierge at a hotel but is that a good idea? How much Japanese would I need to know for a counselor vs concierge?
Hearing someone other than my sister's opinions would be helpful. Please and Thank you
by Melli N  

Re: Stressing 2016/2/1 12:06
Well, how much English would you expect someone in either of those careers in the US to know?

How can you counsel someone on addiction/substance abuse if you can't speak the language?
by daai maou (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Stressing 2016/2/1 12:22
If you are not fluent in the Japanese language, you are likely to find it difficult to get a job in your field in Japan, unfortunately. You'd need to be able to communicate with the locals and the local medical staff.

I don't know what the overall plan is for the four of you (are all of your sisters finding jobs in Japan? Are you staying for good or planning on just a few years?), but simply "moving" and relying on finding a job sounds a bit reckless.

Concierge at a hotel would require some training in hospitality industry; to be practical, a job that requires being a native speaker of the English language IS English language teaching at a conversation school.

by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Stressing 2016/2/1 12:26