Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tax: employment vs business income? 2016/3/2 01:02
I'm a freelance writer living in Tokyo, about to file my taxes as usual. But after doing some reading on http://gaijintax.com/tax-info/, I've started thinking that I've might have gone about this the wrong way so far. Previously, I've declared my freelance income as regular employment income. But judging from what this Gaijin Tax site says, it seems like I could in theory reduce my tax bill significantly by declaring it as private business income instead, and claim a long list of deductions.

Since this all seems pretty complicated to me, I was wondering if anyone here with knowledge of these things by any chance could clear a couple of things up for me:

1. What is the tax rate for "self-employed" people like me? Is it higher or lower than the standard income tax? Is it the same as the "corporate tax" (which seems to consist of 3, 4 or even 5 different taxes)?

2. I've seen lots of people mention the "white form" and "blue form" for filing business income. But the difference is unclear to me. Are deductions for specific business expenses (in my case, mainly lots of business trips) available using the white form, or would I have to apply for the blue form?

3. Is it at all possible to deduct specific business expenses from regular employment income?

Thanks in advance!
by ADHWGT (guest)  

Tax: employment vs business income? 2016/3/2 15:19
Hello.

At first, if you are really freelancer, your income is not employment income.

As for rate of income tax, it differs depending of the amount of your taxable income.

If the amount of taxable income is higher, the rate of income tax is higher.

If you can use blue form ( blue tax return = aoiro shinkoku ), you can apply for income deduction of 650,000 yen.