Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How much Japanese should I know before? 2016/4/6 12:01
So I am planning on going to a Japan Language School in January 2017 and I am going throw a company that will help me with the paper work, etc.

I was told I should know some Japanese before I go because the Japanese embassy will talk to me before hand and see if I should have a Visa. I am currently studying off sites but I find it kinda difficult to learn from words on a site then in person getting taught it.

by Melging  

Re: How much Japanese should I know before? 2016/4/6 18:37
There is no Japanese proficiency requirement to get a student visa, what the embassy wants to see is that you are admitted at the school and have the means to support yourself.

The school should be able to help you with everything; I would think twice before paying a third-party company to do it.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: How much Japanese should I know before? 2016/4/6 20:40
The student visa process is I believe relatively simple. I agree with the above that everything can be handled by the embassy, the school, and yourself, no need for anyone else to get involved, but it's worth repeating because it sounds like this company has fed you some bad information. The people at the embassy will speak to you in English (or French if you're in France, Russian if you're in Russia, etc.), they don't care about your language abilities, you can get several different types of visa without being able to speak a lick of Japanese.

That being said, you've got nine months, it's more than enough time to learn the basics several times over. Just stuff to ensure that your life in Japan is not made needlessly difficult. Things to say when you are shopping, asking for directions, finding out about a train time, nothing difficult.