Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Confused with tv 2016/6/2 18:12
Hi. I have a led tv but I was told that only tv made and buy from Japan can be used.

Did anyone manage to use your own country tv?

If I buy a new tv here, can I just pluck in antenna (onto the wall) and watch free channels?

Or all tv programs are paid channels?

Can I watch analogue tv program (I assume is free if there is free programs) using a digital model tv?

Thanks.
by chie21jan  

Re: Confused with tv 2016/6/3 15:55
If it is the same when I was a student in 1998, you will probably be able to pick up a perfectly good working Tv in or around apartment blocks, especially student ones, that someone has thrown out. Unless it's been in the rain.

I wouldn't bother taking a Tv to Japan as there is a chance it might not work. Japan uses NTSC system although most new Tvs nowadays handle all systems quite happily.

You should be able to get a pretty cheap one there too. I would definitely say the Japan system now is digital, not analogue.
by Matt1969 rate this post as useful

Re: Confused with tv 2016/6/3 15:56
Also, most Tv channels are free to air, but you are meant to pay a monthly fee for NHK (which a lot of people try avoid paying).
by Matt1969 rate this post as useful

Re: Confused with tv 2016/6/5 16:31
Hi. I have a led tv but I was told that only tv made and buy from Japan can be used.

Yes and no. It depends on the specific model, but you can most likely use your existing tv. However to use it you will likely need to purchase a separate digital tuner to get the Japanese free to air channels. They run a few thousand yen at any electronics store or online.

If I buy a new tv here, can I just pluck in antenna (onto the wall) and watch free channels?

Yes, there are several free to air channels.