Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

permission to engage in other activities 2016/6/15 11:43
hi! would you tell me your ideas of my chances getting approved for permission to engage in other activities?
i have 3 years visa in engineering/humanities/int services
but im now over with the company who sponsored me. right now i am studying nihongo and i want part time jobs as of now more than office jobs. the problem is they cannot accept me in the factories and fast food because of my current visa so i am thinking to have the said permission. i also tried applying as an ALT but they want me to have instructor visa which will definitely shorten my visa validity (because instructor visa is only 1 year). do you think having that permission is the best idea? do you have other suggestions in updating my visa that you think are better? thanks in advance
by cardcaptorsakura  

Re: permission to engage in other activities 2016/6/15 17:56
I'd say your chances are zero, especially given that you are currently not engaging in your primary activity.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: permission to engage in other activities 2016/6/15 19:35
If you are no longer working for the employer who helped you with the 3 year visa, then it would not be "right" to ask for that permission. In the first place, you are supposed to report to immigration any important change in your circumstances, such as employment, within 2 weeks of that change happening. Have you done that?

If you are studying the Japanese language full-time, it would be best to change your resident status to "student," and then get the permission to engage in part-time work.
by ....... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: permission to engage in other activities 2016/6/15 19:47
What do you mean it would not be "right"? Everybody is free to apply for whatever they want.