Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Entering Japan before visa begins? 2016/6/25 00:11
Hi,

I'm a university student from the UK, and I have a placement to study abroad at the University of Tokyo, doing a research project for my master's degree in Chemistry. My visa application is apparently under the category of Cultural Activities, which I think is for 6 months. This time frame is just enough time for my project (from the start of October to late March), though I was hoping to arrive in September to settle in, and have sometime to sight-see before I have to start studying 9 to 5.

Is it possible for me to enter as a tourist initially (eg around early September)? I'm guessing I will have to re-enter the country if I do (this is no problem as I'd also like to visit South Korea while I'm nearby), but the visa form has a section to fill in past entries into Japan- is this just upon the time of application, or would travelling to Japan for a few weeks before this visa is due to start render it invalid?

Sorry for any confusion
by Jescieka (guest)  

Re: Entering Japan before visa begins? 2016/6/25 09:25
As far as I know, if you have a valid visa in your passport, you can no longer enter visa-free: you have to "use" your visa. Also, you cannot really "settle in" if you are on Temporary Visitor status: you are not a resident, so you can't get a bank account and you are limited to tourist-oriented options for many things such as cellphone plans and accomodation.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: Entering Japan before visa begins? 2016/6/25 09:29