Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Do I have a chance in Japan? 2016/7/20 10:28
Hello everyone.

I wanted to know what kind of chances I stand of getting a job and surviving in Japan.

My biggest fear is my age. Right now, I am 27 years old, and unfortunately, I decided to start college at 25. I am studying to become a IT Engineer (it is a 5 years degree here, and they give you a 3 years degree, a pre-degree I guess, systems analyst). So, By the time I get the 5 years degree I will probably be around 31-33 (I'm almost 2/5 done).

I do have some known certifications in IT (red hat and Cisco) and been working in IT servers support since I was 20,, but I heard I don't stand a chance with either the 3 years degree or the certs alone that I need a 4 years degree.

So, Basically I want to put some effort and try to finish the career but with a 8 hours job is hard to do it really fast. I am also studying Japanese.

To any of you foreigners out there who live in Japan, what is your experience on getting hired after 30 years old? Anything you can share, specially if you work in IT.

I am saving money to also do a lenguage course there ( I think I can submit a request to get a 2 years student visa ).

Thank you a lot

by debian  

Re: Do I have a chance in Japan? 2016/7/20 14:05