Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Moving Advice..... 2016/7/22 17:59
Hi All,

I am new to this site/forum and looking for a bit of advice as it seems a bit confusing online.

I have always wanted to live in Japan, so i went for a month in November and fell even more in love with the place, I've made the decision that i HAVE to move there to work and live and settle.

My background however i feel may hinder this, I have worked in IT for just over six years, i am an IT Systems Administrator in the UK, unfortunately i do not have a degree as i never went to University, could someone please help with explaining what choices i have or what the best route would be, i have applied for quite a few jobs online however never get anything back, whether that be because i am based in the UK or because i don't speak Japanese i don't know.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks again.

Tom
by FieldenT  

Re: Moving Advice..... 2016/7/23 14:53
Not speaking the language is a big barrier. The majority of jobs in Japan will require some Japanese proficiency, as you would need to talk to the other employees and clients.

A work visa in Japan requires a bachelor degree, unless it is a job where a degree isn't needed/useful; e.g. chef, artist, photographer.

You could consider changing job fields. The easiest way to get a work visa in Japan is to teach English, but even then most jobs may require you to have a degree, or they will hire someone who does have a degree (a degree proves you had education in English, as well).

You could travel there on a student visa and spend a couple of years in a language school learning Japanese, and then try applying for jobs once you know the language. However, language schools are expensive and you need to pay the fees upfront.
by / (guest) rate this post as useful