Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Master's degree at japanese graduate school 2016/8/12 02:01
Hello everyone,
I've come to this forum because I'm a bit worried about the path I should take in the next months/years, mainly because I don't know much about universities outside of my country.

A little bit about myself ; I'm 23, Belgian and I live in Belgium. I hold a bachelor's degree in translation/interpretation in French, German and English. However, Japanese and Japan are the only things that I've really been interested in during the past 7 years or so. I've been learning the language for 3 or 4 years but that has never been related to my studies in any way.

I've often read that it's quite difficult to move to Japan, that you need to have a job prior to arriving, etc. so that's why studying seems to be a great opportunity to actually live there for a while.
This is why I'd like to pursue my studies in Japan by doing an English-taught master's degree there.

I'm thinking about applying for a degree in cultural studies or global communication, I don't know how tough it will be without the knowledge from the undergraduate courses in the same fields, given that I did only have a few similar courses during my bachelor program.

Also, how much of the 2 years is dedicated to writing the thesis ? In my country we decide what we want to write our thesis about during the second year but here it seems like I have to write about my thesis plans in my application already and that worries me a bit. Is it common to decide on the research topic before applying ?

I think I can still make it for the autumn term, I already took the TOEFL test last month with a score of 112.
So far I'm thinking about applying at
- Waseda's GSICCS (Graduate School of International Culture and Communication Studies)