Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Worth it? Free Japanese language classes 2016/9/1 15:47
Hello all,

I am thinking of studying Japanese in a language school in July 2017. My sister also wants to study, but she doesn't have enough money for both school fees and accommodation. So she did a research and she found a lot of free Japanese classes offered by volunteers.

I am probably gonna ask stupid questions, but I literally know nothing and am hoping you can help.
1) Is it really alright for a complete beginner to study there (I know they have beginner classes)? Can the volunteers speak English?
2) Are those classes actually worth taking? I mean, if it's worth it, then I might do the volunteer classes as well, as it will save me a lot of money.

However, I do notice that in language schools there will be student support service who are likely to help with finding accommodation and (possibly) with opening a bank account, and finding jobs etc. I don't think I will be able to get those advantages if I decide to study in the volunteer classes. I have N3 in Japanese but I consider my speaking skill to be N5 so I definitely cannot go find accommodation/open bank account by myself.

Final questions: is it a WISE decision (for someone who's never been to Japan before) to go to Japan and study in free language courses?? Should I stick with Japanese language school? Should I tell my sister to save more money and go to a language school instead of free ones?

Any help would be appreciated, thank you in advance.

by chopperine  

Re: Worth it? Free Japanese language classes 2016/9/1 19:55
For starters, you can't get a visa to attend such courses.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: Worth it? Free Japanese language classes 2016/9/2 05:49
How about visitor visa? Are visitors not allowed to do up to 3-month study?