Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Moving to Japan 2017/1/16 04:15
I'll go directly to the heart of the matter. I'm a medical student from Egypt. By the time I get my bachelor's degree I'll be around 25 years old. I want to move to Japan so I would like to know what options do I have. I've done a little bit of reasearch and I know I can only get a PhD in Japanese universities.
This is what I've thought of, so far:
- Apply for a scholarship to get a PhD in Medicine. In this case, what scores do I have to get? Do I have to get a masters first? Or does it depend on the number of applicants from my country?
- I'm thinking of getting a 2nd degree, but by the time I finish I might be over 30. How are my chances in this case?
- I'm planning to take both JLPT1 and TOEFL. Would that give me an advantage of some sort?
- If the academic route fails, what else can I do?
- Suppose I somehow manage to get a student's visa, am I allowed to look for a job once I graduate?

Thank you very much.
by May (guest)  

Re: Moving to Japan 2017/1/16 10:39
You will need to be fluent in Japanese, including medical terms. This could be very difficult and take several years. If you want to be a doctor in Japan, it could be difficult as many Japanese may prefer to see a Japanese doctor rather than a foreign doctor.
by / (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Moving to Japan 2017/1/16 14:39
If you want to practice in Japan you need a Japanese Medical License, no foreign license is accepted. It means you will have to sit and pass the Japanese License that is in JAPANESE only, the level of vocabulary and grammar is so complicated that even the natives can have a hard time with unusual kanjis.