Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Chef jobs and salary in Japan? 2017/1/23 17:18
I'm a commis chef with a 1 year experience in a 4 star hotel in the US. I also plan on taking the vocational courses offered in the Tokyo Sushi Academy and hopefully get a sushi chef diploma.
How likely would I get a chef job in Japan? and how is the salary?
by Miso (guest)  

Re: Chef jobs and salary in Japan? 2017/1/23 19:10
I also plan on taking the vocational courses offered in the Tokyo Sushi Academy

Those kind of schools are just for fun or for tourists, it takes years to become a real sushi chef.
by Gaby (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Chef jobs and salary in Japan? 2017/1/23 22:00
Read this.

http://www.tokyoimmigration.jp/eng/ryouri.html

Come back in a decade.
by Dainichi Heater rate this post as useful

Re: Chef jobs and salary in Japan? 2017/1/24 00:07
If and when you do move, I don't know how much knowing Japanese cooking will increase your chances of employment by. Of course it will make you a little more attractive to any employer, but really you want to take advantage of your position as a foreigner to perfect cooking styles not native to Japan. There are a million Japanese who can make sushi, but only a small handful who would even know how to begin making something like escargot.

It's not impossible for a foreigner to become a Japanese chef, but it doesn't seem like a particularly attractive option to me when so many other opportunities exist. Frankly most Japanese would probably rather eat sushi made by a Japanese chef anyway.
by Liz (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Chef jobs and salary in Japan? 2017/1/24 08:02
http://www.japantimes.co.jp/life/2010/10/17/general/making-the-cut-at-...